Music and writing.

Music is such a big part of my writing. I have to listen to something if I’m going to be writing/editing.

I find music to create a wonderful “world” in which I can find inspiration. Anything from the tone and style of the music to the lyrics (if I’m paying close enough attention) play some part. Besides the fact that it is a wonderful way to limit outside distractions.

Now I’ve had plenty of people tell me that to them the music is a distraction. I’ve never found that to be true. Sure a song I really like could play so I might pay more attention to it than normal, but typically I turn on the music and it drowns out the rest of the world. I see it like the soundtrack to a movie. The music is there creating a mood but you really don’t pay attention to it. There might be times you notice it, but most of the time you don’t even realize its there.

Since I’m spending most of my time working on Albino Demon I’ve actually started putting a playlist together of the songs that I feel portray certain parts of the book or has been inspirational in the writing. I will probably post that whenever I feel like it represents it well enough.

 

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Austin Bishop
    Jul 25, 2012 @ 16:27:45

    I’m a bit different from you. I love listening to music when writing, but I can’t for the life of me edit with music. I feel like I skip over a lot of mistakes when I do. Music does really help set the tone or mood for a story, though.

    Reply

  2. eternal Domnation
    Jul 25, 2012 @ 17:22:14

    I’m just like you – some folks need to tidy up before they can sit down next to their manuscript and computer, I need to turn on apple tv and make sure itunes is ready to go. For me, I listen to completely different types of music during the process: free-writing tends to gravitate towards alternative, rewriting towards albums I’ve heard no less than 1,000 times (and no longer hear) and editing towards punk rock (much energy needed)! Great post, look forward to checking out that list!

    Btw – if you don’t read http://wantoncreation.wordpress.com/, check it out – great blog on writing, reading, and music!

    Reply

    • heartlessauthor
      Jul 26, 2012 @ 11:24:47

      I usually listen to the different types of music for the different stages too. Typically when I’m writing it will be whatever fits the mood of the story but then it will be more energizing things when I’m doing the more mundane tasks.
      Thanks, I’m not sure when I’ll get the list completed yet, but hopefully soon!
      (and I will check out that blog too) 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

