Art and writing.

I’ve been drawing for far longer than I have been writing. Art is such a relaxing hobby for me and is really one of the main reasons I actually started writing.

For as long as I can remember, while I was drawing I would always make up a story for whatever it was that I was creating. If I liked the character that I drew enough then I would continue drawing them and creating more stories for them. Now I will find myself doodling and finding some interesting character that was hiding in my brain unbeknownst to me. Many stories will still start out in my sketch pad.

Other times I just need a break from writing, time away from a computer and words. Then I will start to sketch ideas for the story. I love to have visuals to work with and I will attempt to draw characters and put them into settings that I might be able to use in the story line.

Or else my brain decides to go in a completely different direction. It likes to come up with comic strip ideas, such as my newest one about a steampunk robot. (I’m not sure if I’ll do anything with that… perhaps post it online somewhere as I create them.)

I have toyed with the idea of writing/illustrating children’s books, but for now I’ll stick with the young adult crowd.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. An Embarrassment of Freedom
    Jul 26, 2012 @ 18:30:14

    Recently i’ve been tempted to start painting…instead of writing….for breaks….just for my own enjoyment….Hmm…wonder if I’ll be any good at it,,,

    Reply

Leave a Reply

