Insomnia.

I suffer with it. I hate it. Though I suppose there is a good reason that it is happening to me tonight… regardless though, I’m not pleased.

I was feeling sick almost all day today so I took a nap in the afternoon, I thought it was early enough that it wouldn’t mess up my sleep too much, but I guess my body has other thoughts.

People tell me just to lay in bed, relax, don’t think, and sleep will finally come to you. I drive myself insane if I try that. I toss and turn, think about everything, my brain never wants to stop. Ultimately I just get upset that I can’t sleep. Though I suppose it can be helpful to my writing sometimes. It seems like my stories are what plague me the most and I just plot things out to happen or come up with interesting ideas. The problem is I don’t get up to write these ideas down and once I eventually fall asleep I forget everything I thought of. I suppose I should keep a notebook by my bed and scribble the ideas down before I drift off.

I wouldn’t have a problem with staying up all night. In the past I didn’t mind it. There were several times in college I would stay up 24+ hours and be okay. Now, if I don’t sleep during the night and get up at a reasonable time in the morning, then I just set myself up for a horrible day. Besides I have so much I need to do…

I shouldn’t be on here though. When I get tired or it gets late enough and my brain just isn’t as sharp as it should be, I start to ramble and say things that I don’t know where they came from. So before I start sharing things or saying things or just become crazy (though I am told I am on a regular basis :p) I will complete this post and wish you all a good-evening yet again.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Austin Bishop
    Jul 30, 2012 @ 03:13:28

    I’m the same way. I once went about two days without sleep. I was exhausted, but I never was able to sleep. Now I’ll spend 18 or 19 hours awake every day and only sleep for a short while. I’m almost always tired, but I can never sleep.

    The one solution I found is working out. For about two years, I went to the gym 5 days a week and slept wonderfully afterward. I’m guessing that since my body was tired, my brain just followed. Now I no longer go to the gym and I’m stuck up all night. I’m not sure why I shared this little tidbit of info, I must be tired. šŸ˜›

    Reply

  2. Zen
    Jul 30, 2012 @ 07:53:25

    If anything I think writing in a notebook will keep you awake even longer, because then you’ll have to sit in position that allows you to write comfortably. I have the same problem; my brain decides to get incredibly active and alert the moment I lay my head on the pillow!

    Reply

    • heartlessauthor
      Jul 30, 2012 @ 08:07:26

      True. I can usually get by with writing down like one sentence that conveys what my idea was. But then there is trying to decide to turn a light on or not, and typically if I try to write something without a light it just turns into unintelligible scribbles. I just don’t understand why my brain decides to have wonderful ideas when I want to sleep but will give me nothing when I’m actually writing.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

