I need friends… But I’m socially awkward.

So when I moved to Ohio over a year ago I  left behind the only friends that I have. Now I live eight hours away from them and I have only been able to see them once since my move… Of course I keep in contact with them, but that’s not at all the same as being able to go shopping, to dinner, the movies, or just hang out and be able to see them face to face. Especially when I was used to seeing them almost every day.

Now, of course I am told I need to make new friends where I live now. The problem is I am an extreme introvert. I may meet someone/work with somebody that seems like they would be a really cool person but I’m far too shy to say anything. If they don’t approach me, then I do nothing. It is something that is very hard for me to get over. One of the main reasons that I can blame this on is I was homeschooled and did not get much socializing. My parents (more like just mother) were insanely strict and even if I would have been able to make friends I would not have been allowed to hang out with them. It wasn’t until I went to college that I finally was able to have a social life.

Living like that for over twenty years of my life really ingrained the whole “shy – not sure how to interact with people” into my brain. The major problem is I find it almost impossible to start a conversation.

I think this is one reason why I like to write. I create characters that are amazing and who I would love to be friends with. I envision worlds that I can get lost in and it feels like I live there too. I picture myself being able to do anything and be anything, and then when I’m not writing real life once again surrounds me.

It is a good thing that I do have a boyfriend or else I would become the “crazy old cat lady”.

My best friend posted this on her blog and I found it very fitting and true.

And I better stop since I feel like I’m rambling and who really cares if I’m shy.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Writing Jobs
    Aug 01, 2012 @ 00:46:20

    That was another excellent post today. You make it look so easy. Thanks so much for sharing. I really enjoyed reading it very much. Have a wonderful day!

    Enjoy writing? Join Us Today –

    Writers Wanted

    Reply

  2. magpiementality
    Aug 01, 2012 @ 11:18:04

    That 7 things list is the best! Anything but the telephone is dead on. Seriously, I am amazed by people who don’t feel a sinking sense of despair when their phone starts ringing… Friends are really hard to make when you get past your college/highschool. The majority of the friends I’ve made as an adult have come about by complete accident or from work or other clubs I’ve joined.
    Try a local club! Like a rotary, or a book club, or a hiking club, or whatever… They won’t be ‘real friends’, at least for a while, but most introverts like to have a little social interaction to balance themselves and only a few ‘true’ friends so it might be just the ticket!

    Reply

    • heartlessauthor
      Aug 01, 2012 @ 17:59:59

      If I could find a club that would interest me I would probably join. I stay away from book clubs and the like because unless the people are my friends I don’t really like having discussions about something.
      There are so many days I wish I was back in college. Life was so uncomplicated then 😛

      Reply

Leave a Reply

