Monday Book Recommendation

Happy Monday! I hope everyone had a great weekend! Mine was fine. I have almost completed the alphabet animal coloring book, so that should be going on sale hopefully later this week! I was able to get 2 chapters of Goldenport edited last night ­čÖé I’m so proud of myself. Yesterday I also completed the most anger inducing game that I have ever played so now I can finally play one that I want to play. It was a busy weekend.

Now I just want Monday to be over with. I do not like Mondays and I don’t think that I ever will. To combat my dislike, I thought that I would start giving book recommendations every Monday of something that I’ve read and think is awesome and that everyone should read at least once in their lifetime.

Today I recommend The Scarlet Pimpernel by Baroness Orczy.

It’s been years upon years ago that I was first introduced to this book. A friend kept going on and on about how good it was so I found it in the library and decided to give it a read. I fell in love; and I became completely obsessed going about calling myself the American Scarlet Pimpernel for quite some time. It is definitely one of my very top favorite books. I’ve reread it countless times as well as all of the sequels I could get my hands on.

For those of you who have never heard of this, it takes place during the French Revolution and is about a very wealthy English gentleman, Sir Percy Blakeney (In my opinion he is one of the most wonderful characters that has ever been created). Everyone thinks that he is some idiot and is constantly concerned with fashion. Secretly, he is the Scarlet Pimpernel (a pimpernel is a red flower in England) and leads a group of Englishmen to save people in France from being executed. Monsieur Chauvelin is a Frenchman and sort of the recurring “villain” that’s always trying to catch Sir Percy.

I suppose you could think of this sort of as a Batman or Zorro before those stories were created. The book really has everything you want in a story; adventure, romance, humor, and likable characters. There are several sequels, some are just short stories of different rescues whereas others are full-length novels. My personal favorite of the sequels is Eldorado.

I don’t think you would be disappointed if you chose to read it. Do keep in mind that the book is over 100 yr. old so it does have some archaic words and the reading level is definitely higher than most books of nowadays.

Leave a Reply

