Monday Book Recommendation

Ever since I started pursuing writing as an actual career I’ve found that I have become a lot pickier about the books I read. Either it has to be an author I already know that I like, have it recommended to me by a friend that knows my tastes, or else the book just have to jump out at me and pester me until I decide to buy it or rent it or just somehow get my hands on it.

That last one is what happened with today’s recommendation.

Dying to Forget (The Station) by Trish Marie Dawson.

I saw the book, I read the blurb, I thought that I might like it but I just wasn’t sure. I kept thinking about getting it, and when something pesters me that much I eventually cave in. I finished the book in less than a day. I could hardly put it down.

Captivating. Interesting. Likable. Original. That’s how I would describe it.

The story is told from the perspective of Piper Willow, an 18 yr. old girl. After committing suicide, she finds herself in a place called the station. There she has to make the decision to become a volunteer and basically go back to earth as the conscience of some other troubled person, or she can opt-out and move on to a hell of her own – forever tormented by her past and pain.

I find it very hard to like the main female characters. There are so very few that don’t annoy me. Piper is very likable and in some ways reminds me of myself.  I was surprised with how much I ended up liking this book. The story keeps your attention and makes you keep reading right to the end. It doesn’t move too quickly that you get lost and don’t know what happens, but it doesn’t move to slowly that you become bored. There is so much vivid descriptions of the people and places that you can feel like you’re there and know them.

I heartily recommend that you get a copy! I don’t think that anyone that reads this will be able to be disappointed in it. I give it a five star rating, and I am eagerly awaiting the next book in the series!

So go get yourself a copy! (And even better, it’s free today for the Kindle!)

Leave a Reply

