Book Recommendation

Well, even though it doesn’t feel like a Monday, apparently it is. So that means it’s time for my weekly book recommendation.

Today, I recommend The Witches’ Sleep by Kaitlyn Deann.

When I first heard about it I wasn’t too keen on reading it. The story is about a girl, Ella, who is murdered and wakes up to find herself on another planet. A planet of witches. I don’t care for witches (just a personal dislike), and so a book with the majority of the characters being witches didn’t appeal to me.

However, I decided to give it a try. The cover didn’t give the impression of the type of witch I was expecting, plus there was a free promotion going on for it. I am very glad I did read it. Once I started I could hardly put it down til I was done.

So like I said, Ella was murdered and wakes up on the planet Raena. She finds out that she is actually a witch named Sunlight Reflecting off the Moon. Her witch parents explain to her that the children fall into what’s known as the Witches’ Sleep. The soul of the sleeping child is transported into the body of a human on Earth and they live out the life of the human. Witches’ lifespans are around 1000 yrs. so, even though time is the same in both worlds, the witch really hasn’t lost too much of their life when they awaken. They do remember their human life, their families and friends, but they don’t remember their life as a witch prior to falling into the sleep.

Ella/Sunlight has to try to adjust and accept that this is her life and her human one was a dream. It’s very hard for her too since she is extremely torn up over the loss of her boyfriend and no longer being able to be with him etc.

Well, she also finds out that the planet is run on the slavery of various were-creatures. Before she had fallen into the sleep, she had been a strong advocate against slavery and had been trying to get equal rights for the were-creatures with the help of the prince – also her soul mate.

Reading the book I really didn’t think of the characters as witches. They were more like a humanoid type of race. The eye color of the witch would show what type of “power” they possessed. Such as violet eyes for persuasion, yellow for power etc… brown eyed witches are the most common – having no special powers. Since that’s their only “magic” if you want to call it that, they really did not give the impression of what I was thinking of a witch. There’s no casting spells and incantations, cooking potions in a bubbling cauldron, flying on brooms, and wearing the pointy hats.

The story is really well told, the characters are developed nicely, and you get a really good feel for Raena. It really draws you in and keeps you hooked. Even though I was able to foretell nearly everything that happened, I still really enjoyed it and wanted to keep reading just to make sure I was right. (It might just be me, though. I have a knack for figuring things out that not everyone can.)

Anyway, it is a really fun read. I will definitely be reading the sequels when they are released. There are plenty of things that I want to know that happen after the end of the book as well as I want to know more about the other planets in their universe.

So if you’re looking for a fun, page-turning fantasy you should check out The Witches’ Sleep!

Cheers!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. reading7mandy
    Sep 03, 2012 @ 19:09:33

    Sounds interesting. I’ll have to give it a try.

    Reply

  2. Dexter M.
    Sep 04, 2012 @ 02:38:04

    Great review, will read!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

