Monday Book Recommendation

It’s Monday and I’ve been super busy… I think it’s time to take a break and give my book recommendation.

Today it shall be Five Children and It by E. (Edith) Nesbit.

Yea, it’s an old book – 110 yrs old to be exact – but it’s a really good book. I remember having it read to me when I was a child and it was just fun and exciting.

The story is about five siblings that find It. It is a Psammead, a sand-fairy, who can grant them wishes. However, the wishes only last till sundown and will turn to stone at the end of the day. Pretty much every wish goes awry with one adventure after the next. In the end they have to try to fix one wish that went a little more out of hand than they had expected, but the only way that It will help them is if they promise to never make any more wishes.

It’s really enjoyable and not just a children’s book. And for some reason my mind is blocked and I can’t think of anything else to say…

There are two other books that come after this one, The Phoenix and the Carpet and The Story of the Amulet. I didn’t like either of them quite as well, though they were still enjoyable.

And there you have it.

Leave a Reply

