Tis the Monday book recommendation: Incarceron

The day is half over and all I’ve gotten done is a bit of laundry… I hate laundry day. But that has nothing to do with this post so I shall get back to topic.

So, this weeks book recommendation is Incarceron by Catherine Fisher.

 

(I don’t know why I never posted the book covers before :p)

Yes, we’ve all heard, don’t judge a book by its’ cover, but it’s just so easy to do. In this case, I’m glad I did. I saw this book sitting on the shelf in Barnes and Noble and I was immediately drawn to it.
I have an obsession with keys, and a shiny, embossed book cover definitely grabs my interest. I looked it over, thought it sounded interesting enough to read, so I bought it.

I completed it in a day – and that’s not because it is short.

Incarceron is a prison; Finn lives there and cannot remember anything prior to waking up in a little cell. He insists that he came from outside the prison, but no one ever comes in anymore or escapes – except for the legendary Sapphique. Finn has an eagle tattoo on his wrist, which he thinks has something to do with who he was before coming to the prison. He receives a crystal key, with the same eagle symbol, and with it he is able to talk to a girl that lives in the outside world.

Claudia is the daughter of the warden of Incarceron. She lives in the Realm, outside of Incarceron. She sneaks into her father’s office and finds a key, exactly like Finn’s, and with the keys they are able to communicate with each other. She hates her life and does not want to be forced to marry the prince; so she decides to try to help Finn escape.

The Realm outside of Incarceron is stuck perpetually in the 18th century. No one can make new inventions or try to further technology. The world is supposed to remain free of change – but there are changes going on, and they’re not for the best.

Finn travels through Incarceron – which is a giant world that was originally created to house all the world’s criminals/undesirables to reform their morals and create a Utopian society. The prison was supposed to be self-contained and be able to  recycle matter back into food and materials that the people would need. The experiment had failed and Incarceron was alive; watching everything that happens within it, learning and growing. Finn makes the journey through the prison, trying to find the way out, with his oath brother and a slave girl that he rescued.

And I will stop before I start spoiling things.

There’s so many surprises and one adventure after another. You never know who to trust, and it makes you keep reading to find everything out. It was such a fun read and I definitely will be reading it again.

The sequel is Sapphique. It was still good, but it didn’t imprint itself on me the way Incarceron did.

 

Cheers

Leave a Reply

