Author Interview with Leslie Susskind

Today I was able to interview the lovely author Leslie Susskind!

Leslie A. Susskind lives with her husband, daughters and two cats outside of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, where she writes children’s books while working in marketing and trying to keep up with everyone’s activities.
She is a BIG bookworm and loves to read just about anything she can get her hands on. She also loves to watch home improvement TV shows (and tries to convince her husband to do the projects), sing in choirs, and watch movies (especially anything Jane Austin). Sometimes she can even be found cooking without a microwave.
She’s also introducing a new series for tweens called, “The Abercrombie Family Business,” with the first book arriving late 2012.
Leslie is also the author of several manners-themed books, including “The Kids’ (and parents’, too!) Book of Good Sportsmanship,” and “It’s Time for Good Manners!” All books are available at your favorite online retailers and Good Manners Kids Stuff Press, in both print and ebook formats.
If you liked “The Month of Zephram Mondays” and “The Tale of Time Warp Tuesday” she hopes you’ll let her know and share it with your friends and other children you think will enjoy it.

*****

Hi Leslie, thanks so much for coming here today! Do you view writing as a career or a hobby or something else?

Writing is both a career and a hobby. It is something I have loved to do for as long as I can remember. I’ve spent many years as a Creative Director, writing tv commercials and marketing pieces; and then for as long as I remember, I’ve spent my non-work hours writing my books. (Ultimately I hope that my book writing hobby becomes my career 🙂 !)

That’s awesome and good luck! When do you like to read? (certain seasons/time of day/weather conditions)

Honestly, I like to read anytime, day or night, any season, any weather. While I love libraries and book stores I have to admit that I am addicted to my kindle and I have been reading more than ever.

Me too! I got my kindle at the beginning of this year and I fell in love with it. Now I have too many books and not enough time to read them all. Do you like to create your own world for your characters or do you like to keep them in the “real world”.

In my Zephram Tales series my characters are in their own world; in another middle grade fantasy book I have coming out late this year, the action takes place outside of Philadelphia, PA, but there is a fantasy world hidden out there.

Sounds really interesting! Who is your biggest supporter in your writing?

My husband has been my biggest supporter, ready with the tissues or the champagne when needed.
Then my daughters (one is even working on a book trailer for me) and of course my parents and friends. All their encouragement has been gratefully accepted.

That’s great! What is one, non-writing related, thing that you like to do in your spare time.

I love to sing. I sing in our church choir and other local groups. My daughters share a love of music with me, too.

That sounds fun! So I love to ask this question. Do you have any pets?

Yes, we have two cats right now. We’d love to get a dog soon, just trying to fit walks into our family’s busy schedule. One of the cats loves paper and books and will force herself between me and the book or my papers, and just purrs!

Lol. I have 5 cats and someone is always trying to get into my stuff. Where is your favorite place to write and do you need something (or lack of something) to write your best?

My favorite place to write is in my living room on a sunny day. It’s a little quieter but I can still hear what everyone is up to. (Also, it tends to be the cleanest room of the house so there’s no clutter to distract me.)

Same for me! What is one thing that none of your fans probably know about you?

My husband and I met in a Gilbert and Sullivan Opera Company. He was backstage and I was onstage.

That’s cool! How much of the editing do you do yourself?

I do a lot of my own editing but I always bring in 1-2 editors/proofreaders to help me. I’m too close to it; it’s always best to bring in a skilled, unbiased reader/editor to help make it as strong (and error free) as it can be.

Very true. You can only pick one. Tell us who is your favorite character out of all of the books you’ve written or are working on and why.

My favorite character is Ned (aka Prince Nedwyn), one of the Royal Quadruplets in my Zephram Tales series (The Month of Zephram Mondays and The Tale of Time Warp Tuesday). I love all of my quadruplets, and, in fact, Lizzie (Princess Lizeta) is probably modeled pretty closely after me, but Ned just has something special to him. He is my rebel but he is brave, funny and just a real breath of fresh air! The Zephram Tales are about the magical kingdom of Zephram. Everyone is magical in the kingdom except for the quadruplets – but that lack of magic hasn’t stopped them from saving the country every time it’s been danger. There’s just something about Ned’s viewpoint that takes on a life of its own whenever I write about him.

Cool! Do you have any closing comments?

These were great questions. It’s so much fun to get the chance to talk about my books. Thank you for the opportunity. If any hopeful writers out there read this, I wish you all the best of luck as you work on what you love. Never give up!

Well thanks again and it was great being able to learn more about you! Wish you all the best in the future 🙂

*****

Want to know more about Leslie and her books? Check out her website, blog, and publishing company! Or you can just send her an email at lesliesusskind@aol.com!

Also be sure to check out her books, The Month of Zephram Mondays and The Tale of Time Warp Tuesday, books 1 and 2 in the Zephram Tales. Both available now!

In the Kingdom of Zephram, everyone is magical – everyone except for the Royal Quadruplets: Tom, Lizzie, Ned and Nell. It’s tough to be different, even if you are a prince or a princess. And Tom, Lizzie, Ned and Nell are treated differently by everyone in the kingdom!
But when evil Prince Persius takes over the kingdom, it’s the non-magical Tom, Lizzie, Ned and Nell who are the only ones left to try and save the day. Through their funny and challenging adventures they and those around them come to a better appreciation of the children’s skills – and the big difference you can make by being different!
In the second of The Zephram Tales (after ‘The Month of Zephram Mondays’), Tom, Lizzie, Ned and Nell, the Royal Quadruplets and non-magical Heroes of the magical Kingdom of Zephram, have settled back into their same old boring routines after the excitement of saving Zephram and the rest of the world from evil Prince Persius.
Then, suddenly, the children realize why everything is so incredibly boring: it’s because everyone’s repeating the same day, over and over again!
Tom, Lizzie, Ned and Nell are the only ones who know what’s happening, and it looks like they’re the only ones who can do anything about it. But why has it happened? How are four non-magical children going to start the magical world turning again? And what will they find out about themselves in the process?

Watch for the third Zephram Tale, “Wednesday when the Rock Field Rang,” coming late 2013.

Chat

Leave a Reply

