Author Interview with Joy Ann Coll!

Today I had the pleasure of interviewing the talented author Mrs. Joy Ann Coll!

For more than a decade, Joy Ann Coll has been writing romance novels. She graduated from the University of Delaware and went on to pursue a successful twenty-five year career at DuPont. After leaving the corporate world, she moved to coastal Florida and began working on her writing career by taking part in conventions and contests held by Romance Writers of America. Her debut novel, A King’s Ransom, was published in July 2012. Her second novel, a romantic suspense titled Invisible Among Us, is due out early 2013. Joy lives in Vero Beach, Florida, with Bernard, her husband of twenty-two years.

*****

Hi Joy, thanks so much for joining me today! So I was wondering, do you like writing series? Or do you like to create stand alone books and write a sequel only if you feel like it?

I’m definitely a single-title romance writer. In that format, I can research a unique location and subject matter for each story that keeps my interest and hopefully intrigues my readers. I would only write a sequel if requested.

Yea, I understand. Now this would probably be impossible for me to answer, but you can only pick one. Tell us who is your favorite character out of all of the books you’ve written or are working on and why.

I enjoy exploring wounded characters who overcome adversity. Developing characters with handicaps is much more challenging and interesting for me and hopefully inspires handicapped readers. My favorite character, Rayhan, is a mute man in my debut novel, A King’s Ransom, who overcomes unspeakable cruelty to live a productive and happy life.

That’s awesome! Who is your biggest supporter in your writing?

My husband, Bernie, encourages and praises me when he likes my writing and gives me blunt criticism when he doesn’t. It’s not always easy to hear but I know he has my best interests at heart.

That’s wonderful. It’s always great to know that you’ll receive honest feedback. Where is your favorite place to write and do you need something (or lack of something) to write your best?

I set up a writer’s den in a spare bedroom of my home which I use as my sanctuary for writing and creating. A love seat, recliner, writing desk and lots of cork boards help me create my “masterpieces”.

I need one of those rooms! Now one of my favorite questions. Do you have any pets?

Yes, I have one cat named Checkers. Like most cats, she likes to walk on my keyboard when I’m working or curl up on my lap when I’m creating in the recliner.

Lol. I think they’re just trying to show their support 😉 So what is your favorite book?

Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen.

I’ve actually never taken the time to read that one, though I have heard it’s good. Do you give your characters experiences that you’ve had in your own life?

I enjoy exploring new places, new things, new hobbies… I give my characters hobbies that are opposite of anything I’ve ever done; but at times, I do write scenes that come from my own personal experiences. I live vicariously through them so I send them on adventures that excite me.

Cool! That’s mostly what I do as well. How do you pick the names for your characters?

During character development, I determine the age of each one, then research baby names for the year they were born and select names that fit the personalities I’m visualizing in my mind.

Very interesting! Definitely makes sense, I’m sure that helps create the feel for that time frame even better. Do you ever write your stories on paper then type them up, or do you do everything on the computer?

During the creative process (plot development) sometimes I am so consumed with the story that I have to grab a pen and pad of paper and scribble while the words are flowing out of me. Most of the time, I write on a laptop but on these occasions when I’m overflowing with muse energy, I have to re-type what I scribbled on a legal pad or a napkin, whatever’s handy.

I completely understand those moments. My problem is trying to decipher what I scribbled down afterwards! Now lets say you can only eat one thing for the rest of your life. What is it?

A hot fudge sundae … yum!

Mmm sounds good! Do you have any closing comments?

Thank you for the opportunity to talk about my writing. I’ve enjoyed the writer’s journey and look forward to becoming a better writer and interacting with my readers using social media.

Awesome and thank you so much for being here!

*****

Want to know more about Joy or stay up on news check out her Website, Twitter, Facebook (book page), Facebook (author page) or you can always send her an email at romancebyjoy@aol.com!

Also check out her book A King’s Ransom. Available now!

 In a culture clash as sexy as it is dangerous, a sovereign sheikh and a beautiful American woman fall in love even as she remains his captive. Megan Wentworth heads to the deserts and modern cities of the Middle East only to find herself arrested by the mysterious and powerful Sheikh Mikal al-Shareef. In this romantic adventure, a woman must balance her duty to family with her passion for an unlikely lover in a foreign land.
During her confinement, the captor and victim soon become deeply attracted to each other. The sheikh is utterly captivated by Megan’s inner strength and beauty, and against her better judgment, she finds herself falling in love with this mysterious man.
Back in the states, Megan’s younger sister faces a prison sentence if Megan and her blackmailer don’t return home soon. Megan struggles between her devotion to her sister and the man she comes to love. Will she betray Mikal and return home or will she remain in Turkistan?
Meanwhile Mikal doesn’t trust Megan. As a leader, he must first ensure the security of his country before following his heart. As a virile man who knows what he wants, however, the sheikh wants Megan to fulfill his destiny to produce a male heir. When Megan is used as a pawn during an attempt to overthrow the sheikh’s rule, Megan and Mikal must confront their conflicted desires. A story of forbidden love, this high-wire romance shimmers amidst the exotic landscape of the Middle East.

Chat

Leave a Reply

