Author Interview with Kaitlyn Deann!

I am so pleased to announce that the very talented author, Miss Kaitlyn Deann, has honored me by allowing me to interview her today!

She is the author of The Witches’ Sleep, which some of you may remember was my book recommendation a couple weeks ago. She so graciously accepted to come do an interview with me today so we can find out a bit more about her.

*****

Hi, Kaitlyn, again thank you so much for being here today! So more than likely you are currently working on a book – or even multiple books – can you tell us a bit about you current work in progress and if you know when it will be available?

I am working on the sequel to my debut novel. It’s titled World of the Beasts. The release date is still being determined, but I do know it’ll be sometime in 2013.

Exciting! I can’t wait to be able to read it! Imagine you just won a trip to anywhere in the world. Where would you go and why?

This is a hard question! I think I would go to Israel to see the Dead Sea and other great historical landmarks. Would you call the Dead Sea a landmark? Hmm.

That’s cool. Yea, I think it would be considered a landmark. So, you can only pick one. Tell us who is your favorite character out of all of the books you’ve written or are working on and why.

The protagonist. I know some people are confused about who the protagonist is. Is it Sunny or Kindness? I’ll be blunt. It’s Kindness. Without him, there would be no success in the story. But without Sunny, there would be success, therefore HE is the hero. Kindness is the protagonist. Sunny is the sidekick, meaning they complement each other well, meaning their roles play off each other in such a way that they work side by side, almost as one. I apologize if it confused anybody. In the sequel, I’m working on making it more clear who is who.

Thanks for that clarification. I did lean more to thinking Sunny was, but that’s probably only because it was from her point of view. So what is one thing that none of your fans probably know about you?

My dad is the real Sherlock Holmes.

Cool! That must make him even more of an awesome dad. What is one, non-writing related, thing that you like to do in your spare time?

Hang out with my friends! It doesn’t matter what we do — watch movies, swim, run around the mall playing pranks on people — I love spending time with them!

That’s always fun to do. So this happens a lot to me, do your characters have a mind of their own and get into trouble that you weren’t expecting?

Yes, yes they do. Especially Tuck. He just doesn’t know how to stay out of trouble.

Haha, I can definitely see him doing that! Do you ever run out of inspiration? How do you get it back or keep it coming?

I don’t recall ever “running out” of inspiration. Some days I get writer’s block, but then I watch a movie, read or listen to music and ideas flood to me. It’s really not that hard for me to get out of writer’s block.

That’s what I like to do too. So, why did you start writing?

I love telling stories. A dream of mine since I was young was to be able to entertain, encourage and educate all at once. I find that I can do that in writing.

That’s great! And I say you definitely were able to do that with this book! What is your favorite thing about writing?

Getting lost. For real. I like to just lose myself in different worlds, in the heads of other characters.

That’s one of my favorite things about it too! Who is your biggest supporter in your writing?

My family and friends. They have been the best “fans” anyone could ever ask for! They’re always here when I need them. I know I can always count on them to have my back.

Awesome. So do you have any closing comments?

Thank you, Stef, for asking me to do this interview, and for loving my book! It means a lot. By the way, you are such a kind and awesome woman!

Well thank you for being here! I loved being able to have you today! Aww, thank you so much, that just made my day! 🙂

*****

Want to know more about Kaitlyn or to stay up on news and info? Check out these sites: Website, Facebook, Twitter, Tumblr, Youtube, and LinkedIn!

 And make sure to check out her book, The Witches’ Sleep. Available now!

 At only seventeen, Ella Barnes is shot and killed for an unknown reason. She is shocked when she wakes up in a different world, a world of witches. Ella has to learn to adapt to a new body, new life and new world, surrounded by new people. As Ella gets to know Raena, the world of the witches and its people, she realizes they aren’t the perfect creatures they believe themselves to be, and she’s not the type of person to stand around and twiddle her thumbs. Will Ella succeed in changing the mindset of the people? Or will she be doomed to die another cold and tragic death because of her rebellion?

Chat

Leave a comment